Cory Vanthuyne

Biographie

Cory Vanthuyne a été élu à la 18e Assemblée législative des Territoires du Nord-Ouest en novembre 2015 en tant que député de la circonscription de Yellowknife Nord. Il s’agit de son premier mandat.

M. Vanthuyne a vécu toute sa vie aux TNO; il est né à Inuvik et a grandi à Yellowknife. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme de l’école secondaire Sir John Franklin en 1989, il s’est dirigé vers l’industrie de la construction en devenant apprenti ébéniste et apprenti charpentier. En 1996, il a reçu un diplôme d’associé en gestion et a ensuite assumé différents rôles dans le domaine.

En 2003, M. Vanthuyne a joint ses expériences en construction et en gestion pour entamer une carrière en gestion de projet. Depuis 2010, il est le propriétaire et le gestionnaire de l’entreprise CORVAN Consultants ltée, qui offre des services de développement des entreprises et de gestion de projet à l’industrie de la construction dans le Nord.

Au printemps de 2014, M. Vanthuyne a cofondé Event Rentals Yellowknife ltée, qui fournit de l’équipement de location ainsi que des services de planification et de logistique pour des événements, des festivals, des ateliers et des conférences à Yellowknife et aux TNO.

M. Vanthuyne a aussi siégé pendant deux mandats au conseil de la Ville de Yellowknife et a été adjoint au maire de la ville. Il a aussi siégé au conseil d’un certain nombre d’organismes, parmi lesquels le Comité directeur d’Habitat pour l’humanité des TNO, NWT Skills Canada, le terrain de golf de Yellowknife, le centre de curling de Yellowknife et la Société du Long John Jamboree.

En 2003, la mère de M. Vanthuyne, Gail, est décédée du cancer des poumons. Depuis, il promeut énergiquement de nombreux organismes de charité qui luttent contre le cancer. Il est, entre autres, membre de l’équipe du Relais pour la vie de la Société canadienne du cancer depuis 12 ans.

Cory Vanthuyne

Committees

Chair of Standing Committee on Economic Development and Environment

Board of Management (Member)

Standing Committee on Priorities and Planning (Member)

Standing Committee on Government Operations (Alternate Member)

 

 

 

 

Member's Office:

P.O. Box 1320  Yellowknife, NT  X1A 2L9
(867) 767-9143 ext. 12170

Cory_Vanthuyne@gov.nt.ca

Biography

Cory Vanthuyne was first elected to the 18th Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories in November 2015 representing the constituency of Yellowknife North.

Mr. Vanthuyne is a lifelong NWT resident, born in Inuvik and raised in Yellowknife. After graduating from Sir John Franklin High School in 1989 he sought vocation in the construction industry apprenticing in two building trades - carpentry and cabinetmaking. In 1996, he received an Associate’s Degree in Management and ventured into a number of diversified management roles.

In 2003, Mr. Vanthuyne integrated his construction background with his management experience and transformed his career into project management. Since 2010, he has been the owner/operator of CORVAN Consultants Ltd, providing project management and business development services for the North’s construction industry.

In the spring of 2014, Mr. Vanthuyne founded and co-created Event Rentals Yellowknife Ltd, providing rental equipment, planning and logistics services for events, festivals, workshops and conferences to Yellowknife and the Northwest Territories.

Mr. Vanthuyne is a former two-term City Councillor for the City of Yellowknife and former Deputy Mayor. He has also contributed to a number of boards, such as NWT Habitat for Humanity Steering Committee, NWT Skills Canada, Yellowknife Golf Course, Yellowknife Curling Centre and the Long John Jamboree Society.    

In 2003, Mr. Vanthuyne lost his mother Gail to lung cancer. Since then he has remained a strong advocate for a number of local cancer charities including the Canadian Cancer Society’s Relay for Life for which he has been a team member for the past 12 years.