Robert C .McLeod

 

 

Biographie

Robert C. McLeod a été réélu à la 18e Assemblée législative comme député d’Inuvik Twin Lakes.

M. McLeod a été élu pour la première fois à la 15e Assemblée législative dans le cadre d’une élection partielle dans la même circonscription. Il y a été réélu en octobre 2007 à la 16e Assemblée législative, puis élu par acclamation en 2011 à la 17e Assemblée législative.

Durant la 15e Assemblée, M. McLeod a siégé au Comité permanent des programmes sociaux, dont il est devenu président durant la 16e Assemblée jusqu’à son élection au Conseil exécutif en octobre 2008. Pendant la 16e Assemblée, il a été ministre des Affaires municipales et communautaires, ministre responsable de la Commission de la sécurité au travail et de l’indemnisation des travailleurs, ministre responsable de la Société d’habitation des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et ministre responsable de la jeunesse.

Robert C. McLeod est revenu au Conseil des ministres à la 17e Assemblée et a été nommé ministre des Affaires municipales et communautaires, ministre responsable de la Société d’habitation des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et ministre responsable de la jeunesse. Avec la signature de l’entente sur le transfert des responsabilités, il a été le premier à être nommé ministre de l’Administration des terres le 1er avril 2014.

Avant d’être député, M. McLeod a été conseiller municipal à Aklavik de 1983 à 1985, puis maire d’Aklavik de 1987 à 1989.

M. McLeod est né à Aklavik[AN1] , aux TNO, mais a grandi dans la partie ouest d’Inuvik. Il a déménagé à Aklavik en 1982 et y a vécu pendant 22 ans. Il réside actuellement à Inuvik.

M. McLeod a fréquenté l’école primaire Sir Alexander Mackenzie et l’école secondaire Samuel Hearne, à Inuvik, puis a poursuivi ses études au New Brunswick Community College, à Moncton. Il a ensuite étudié au Lakeland College, à Vermillion, en Alberta, où il a obtenu le certificat de compagnon charpentier et celui du programme du Sceau rouge.

M. McLeod a reçu le prix honorant les anciens élèves émérites du Lakeland College et a été inscrit au tableau d’honneur du campus de Vermillion en 2010.

M. McLeod a été vice-président bénévole du Club de curling d’Inuvik de même que président du Club de canot d’Aklavik et du Club de curling d’Aklavik. Il a été joueur, entraîneur et gérant pour les équipes de hockey et de balle rapide d’Aklavik. On lui a décerné le Prix du bénévole ténois et le Prix du bon voisin.

Les loisirs et champs d’intérêt de M. McLeod incluent le curling, le badminton, la balle rapide, la lecture et la motoneige. Il faisait partie de l’équipe gagnante d’Aklavik à la course de canot du bicentenaire ayant eu lieu en 1989 entre Fort Providence et Inuvik.

M. McLeod et sa femme Judy, mariés depuis 36 ans, ont trois enfants : Kimberly (Raymond), Ryan (Fiona) et Janesta. M. McLeod est le fier grand-père de cinq petits-enfants : Rylan, Reese et Morgan Sophia, de même que Kullen Ray Alexander et Bobby Ryan.

Robert C. McLeod

Deputy Premier

Minister of Finance

Minister of Environment and Natural Resources 

Minister of Human Resources

Minister with Lead Responsibility for Infrastructure

Member's Office:

P.O. Box 1320  Yellowknife, NT  X1A 2L9
(867) 767-9141 ext. 11128
Robert_C_McLeod@gov.nt.ca

 

Constituency Office:

P.O Box 3130 Inuvik, NT X0E 0T0
107 Mackenzie Road Suite 107
867-678-2429 (office)
867-678-2431 (fax)

 

Biography

Robert C. McLeod was re-elected to the 18th Legislative Assembly as the Member for Inuvik Twin Lakes.

Mr. McLeod was first elected in a by-election to the 15th Legislative Assembly as the Member for Inuvik Twin Lakes. He was re-elected in October 2007 to the 16th Legislative Assembly and acclaimed in 2011 as the Member for Inuvik Twin Lakes during the 17th Legislative Assembly.

During the 15th Assembly, Mr. McLeod served on the Standing Committee on Social Programs and he served as Chair of the Standing Committee on Social Programs during the 16th Assembly until being elected to the Executive Council in October 2008. He served as the Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs, the Minister Responsible for the Worker's Safety and Compensation Commission, the Minister Responsible for the Northwest Territories Housing Corporation and the Minister Responsible for Youth during the 16th Assembly.

Robert C. McLeod was returned to Cabinet in the 17th Assembly and was named Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs, Minister Responsible for the Northwest Territories Housing Corporation and the Minister Responsible for Youth.  With the signing of the Devolution Agreement, he was named the first Minister of the Department of Lands as of April 1st, 2014

He previously served as an elected Councillor in Aklavik from 1983 to 1985, and as Mayor of Aklavik from 1987 to1989.

Mr. McLeod was born in Akalvik, NT and raised in Inuvik's west end. He moved to Aklavik in 1982 where he lived for 22 years. He currently resides in Inuvik.

Mr. McLeod attended Sir Alexander Mackenzie School and Samuel Hearne Secondary School in Inuvik, and went on to study at New Brunswick Community College in Moncton. He then attended Lakeland College in Vermillion, Alberta where he obtained his Journeyman Carpenter certificate and his Interprovincial Red Seal.

Mr. McLeod is a recipient of the Lakeland College Distinguished Alumni award and also appeared on the Vermillion Campus Wall of Distinction in 2010.

Mr. McLeod has served on a volunteer basis as the vice president of the Inuvik Curling Club and as president of the Aklavik Canoe Club and Aklavik Curling Club. He was a player, coach and manager of the Aklavik hockey and fast pitch teams. He was a recipient of the NWT Volunteer Award and the Good Neighbour Award.

Mr. McLeod's hobbies and interests include curling, badminton, fast pitch, reading and snowmobiling. He was a member of the winning Aklavik Team in the bicentennial canoe race from Fort Providence to Inuvik in 1989.

Mr. McLeod and Judy, his wife of 36 years, have three children: Kimberly (Raymond), Ryan (Fiona) and Janesta. Mr. McLeod's pride and joy are his five grandchildren: Rylan, Reese and Morgan Sophia, Kullen Ray Alexander and Bobby Ryan.