News April 17, 2009

Legislative Assembly to Welcome Youth Parliamentarians

(Yellowknife, NT) April 17, 2009 – Eighteen high school students from across the North will take part in Youth Parliament 2009 beginning on Monday, April 20 at the Legislative Assembly building in Yellowknife. The students will participate in three days of meetings and briefings in preparation for the Youth Parliament Session during which they assume the roles of their respective Member of the Legislative Assembly. 

Speaker Paul Delorey says, “Youth Parliament has become a proud Northern tradition among high school students. This is the tenth annual Youth Parliament and is an excellent program that develops student awareness of Northern civics. At the same time, it builds on a student’s natural leadership skills and provides opportunity for personal growth in areas such as public speaking, writing, research, and interpersonal skills.” 

Youth Parliament is one of several educational outreach programs offered at the Legislative Assembly through the Office of the Speaker. The program is aimed at educating Northern youth about consensus government, emphasizing the Assembly, it’s function and history, and the important role the institution holds in the NWT. 

The participants, by constituency, are: 

Deh Cho – Mr. Dwight McLeod
Frame Lake – Ms. Teale MacIntosh

Great Slave – Mr. Alexander Smith
Hay River North – Ms. Christine Gagnier 

Hay River South – Mr. Garrett Ahenakew
Inuvik Boot Lake – Ms. Alecia Lennie 

Inuvik Twin Lakes – Ms. Katherine Sittichinli
Kam Lake – Mr. Dylan Short 

Mackenzie Delta – Mr. Frank Gruben
Monfwi – Mr. Shawn Gon 

Nahendeh – Mr. Tyler Pilling
Range Lake – Mr. Tyler Comeau 

Sahtu – Ms. Mahalia Mackeinzo
Thebacha – Mr. Josh Tordiff 

Tu Nedhe – Ms. Morgan Unka
Weledeh – Ms. Dana Harris 

Yellowknife Centre – Ms. Nha Ly
Yellowknife South – Ms. Taylor Raciborski

The Youth Parliament 2009 session is taking place on Thursday, April 23rd, at 1:30 p.m. The public is invited to come watch the Session from the Public Gallery. Media are encouraged to arrange interviews with the students prior to the sitting day. For more information, please contact: 

Danielle O’Neill 
Public Affairs and Communications Advisor 
Legislative Assembly of the NWT 
Phone: 867-669-2230 or 1-800-661-0784