News October 14, 2010

New Chief Electoral Officer appointed by the Legislative Assembly of the NWT

YELLOWKNIFE (October 14, 2010) – The Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories today appointed Mr. David Brock of Yellowknife as the Chief Electoral Officer for the NWT. The appointment is pursuant to Section 5 of the Elections and Plebiscites Act and Mr. Brock’s four year term takes effect on October 18, 2010. 

In previous roles, Mr. Brock worked in the Executive Council offices of the Government of the Northwest Territories and the Government of Nunavut. He studied political science at Dalhousie University, the University of Saskatchewan, and the University of Western Ontario. His past research includes the study of election law enforcement. He is a Fellow of Action Canada, a national program in public policy and leadership. 

In his role as Chief Electoral Officer, Mr. Brock will report to the Legislative Assembly through the Speaker and will be responsible for the strategic management of territorial elections and plebiscites, exercising general direction and supervision over the administrative conduct of an election. In addition, the Chief Electoral Officer will establish policies and procedures, manage the Register of Territorial Electors, supply training and guidance to electoral officers, and provide advice and recommendations to the Legislative Assembly regarding elections legislation and policy. 

The next general election will be held on October 3, 2011. 

For further information, please contact: 

Paul Delorey, Speaker 
Legislative Assembly of the NWT 
Phone: 867-669-2234 or toll-free: 1-800-661-0784 

David Brock, Chief Electoral Officer 
Elections NWT 
Phone: 867-920-6999