News October 17(a), 2007

Executive Council members selected by the 16th Legislative Assembly

(Yellowknife) October 17, 2007 - Members of the 16th Legislative Assembly have chosen the six Members who, in concert with Premier-elect Floyd Roland, will form the Executive Council of the Northwest Territories. The Territorial Leadership Committee held the vote in the Assembly Chamber earlier today. 

The following Members, once formally sworn-in at 4 p.m. on Thursday, October 18, 2007, will join Premier-elect Floyd Roland: 

Mr. Jackson Lafferty, MLA Monfwi 
Mr. Norman Yakeleya, MLA Sahtu 
Ms. Sandy Lee, MLA Range Lake 
Mr. Bob McLeod, MLA Weledeh 
Mr. Michael McLeod, MLA Deh Cho 
Mr. Miltenberger, MLA Thebacha 

The Executive Council selection process followed the established practice whereby a regional balance was maintained by selecting two Members from the northern constituencies, two from southern constituencies, and two from Yellowknife. 

Formal motions to ratify the appointments to the Executive Council will be brought forward when the 16th Legislative Assembly convenes on Thursday, October 18, at 1:30 p.m. The Premier will assign cabinet portfolios at a later date. 

For more information contact: 

Patricia Russell 
Principal Clerk – Standing and Special Committees 
Legislative Assembly of the NWT 
P: 867-669-2230 or Toll Free: 1-800-661-0784 
F: 867-873-0222 (867) 920-4735