News September 8, 2009

Members Appointed to the Independent Commission to Review Members’ Compensation and Benefits -

(Yellowknife, NT) September 8, 2009 – The Honourable Paul Delorey, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, on the recommendation of the Board of Management, has appointed three members to the Independent Commission to Review Members’ Compensation and Benefits. 

Garth Malakoe of Yellowknife was appointed Chair of the Commission and Marion Berls of Fort Smith and Leon Lafferty of Behchoko have been appointed as Commissioners. “Each of the individuals who have been appointed to this Commission are very well suited to undertake this review,” said Mr. Delorey. “We look forward to hearing their recommendations in the near future.” 

The review, to be undertaken within two years of a general election, of the indemnities, allowances, expenses and benefits provided to Members of the Legislative Assembly is a statutory requirement of the Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act. The Commission, established under the Act, will review and assess Members’ various benefits to determine the adequacy and appropriateness of the amounts provided and will review and assess the reporting requirements and procedures to determine an acceptable level of public accountability. 

Within six months of the establishment of the Commission, a report will be delivered to the Speaker that may set out recommendations for changes to the indemnities, reimbursements, and all other benefits to which Members are entitled. These recommendations must be debated and formally adopted by the Legislative Assembly before taking effect. 

For further information, contact: 

Paul Delorey, Speaker 
Legislative Assembly of the NWT 
P: 867-669-2234 or toll-free 1-800-661-0784