Members' Accountability

Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories Members' Conduct Guidelines

As a Member elected to the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories, I acknowledge that I have accepted a responsibility to serve the people of the Northwest Territories. I seek wisdom, strength, courage, honesty, and caring from the people of the North, both from those who have built our past and from those who are shaping our future. As a legislator elected to govern the Northwest Territories, I will serve to do my utmost to:

Hear the voices of all our people;

Preserve our traditions and bridge them with new ways to build our future;

Provide legislation, policies, and services for the good of the people as individuals, families, and communities;

Promote the equality of all our people;

Distribute resources fairly and justly; and

Respect and honour our land and all its inhabitants.

 As a legislator, I will do my best to fulfill my duties to the legislature, the public, my constituents, and my colleagues with integrity and honour.

To the legislature, I owe respect as well as dedication to my role in ensuring the integrity of our government and in earning, through my actions, the confidence of the people.

To the public, I owe a responsibility to work for the well-being of all residents of the Northwest Territories.

To my constituents, I owe my best efforts at effective representation as well as accountability, honesty, fairness, and courtesy.

To my colleagues, I owe fairness and respect for our differences and the duty to work together with goodwill for the common good.

I acknowledge human vulnerabilities and will strive to bring honour to my role as a representative of our people.

I will perform the duties of my office with integrity, objectivity and impartiality and I will arrange my private matters so as to maintain the trust and confidence of the public.

I will respect and abide by the laws of Canada and the Northwest Territories and I will not act in ways which violate these laws.

I will not act, nor condone others to act in ways which are dishonest, or which exploit, slander, or discriminate against others.

As a legislator, I acknowledge a vision and a responsibility to improve the life of our people and I will strive to act in creative ways to overcome the hardships which destroy life and hope, and the human frailties which fall upon us.

So long as I am a Member of the Legislative Assembly, I will be true to these obligations, and will work to preserve the greatness of our land and our people.