Herbert Nakimayak

Member's Office:

P.O. Box 1320  Yellowknife, NT  X1A 2L9
(867) 767-9143 ext. 12145




Standing Committee on Priorities and Planning (Member)
Standing Committee on Economic Development and Environment (Member)
Standing Committee on Government Operations (Member)
Striking Committee (Member)
Standing Committee on Social Development (Alternate Member)
Board of Management (Alternate Member)


Nunakput Electoral District:



Herbert Nakimayak was elected to the 18th Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories in November 2015 representing the constituency of Nunakput.

Mr. Nakimayak currently resides in Paulatuk, NT.

He first served as an elected official as the Vice President of the Inuit Circumpolar Council.

Mr. Nakimayak has previous work experience as a Plant Superintendent with the Northwest Territories Power Corporation, a Logistical Site Support Manager with Raytheon and as a Patrolman/Warden with Parks Canada.

Mr. Nakimayak studied entrepreneurship at Mount Royal University, Project Management at Algonquin College, and completed a gas plant operator certificate at the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology.

 In his spare time, Mr. Nakimayak enjoys playing broomball and hockey, hunting and fishing.