News October 26(b), 2011

(Yellowknife)  October 26, 2011 - Members of the 17th Legislative Assembly have chosen the six Members who, in concert with Premier-elect Bob McLeod, will form the Executive Council of the Northwest Territories. The Territorial Leadership Committee held the vote in the Assembly Chamber earlier today.

The following Members, once formally sworn in at 3:00 p.m. on Thursday, October 27, 2011, will join Premier-elect Bob McLeod on the Executive Council: 


News October 26(a), 2011

(Yellowknife) October 26, 2011 – The Members of the 17th Legislative Assembly have elected Yellowknife South MLA Bob McLeod as the Northwest Territories Premier-elect and Mr. Jackie Jacobson as the Speaker-elect of the 17th Legislative Assembly. The Territorial Leadership Committee conducted its selection process in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly earlier today. Formal motions to ratify the selections will be brought forward when the 17th Legislative Assembly convenes on Thursday, October 27, at 1:30 p.m.


News October 25, 2011

(Yellowknife) October 25, 2011 – Members of the 17th Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories have confirmed the process to be used to elect the Speaker, Premier and Executive Council during the Territorial Leadership Committee (TLC) meetings being held tomorrow in Yellowknife.


News October 20, 2011

(YELLOWKNIFE) October 20, 2011 – Sahtu MLA Norman Yakeleya has withdrawn from the selection process for NWT Premier. 

“After much reflection and discussion with my wife, colleagues, and respected individuals in the community, I have decided I will be supporting a Premier that aligns their aspirations with mine. This Legislature needs to renew and commit to a consensus approach of governing.” 


News October 4, 2011

(Yellowknife) October 4, 2011 – The polls closed at 8:00 pm Monday, October 3rd and the votes were tallied up to reveal the Members-elect of the 17th Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories. The Member-elect, from Inuvik Boot Lake constituency will be subject to a recount. New Assembly Members-elect will be in office starting October 12th but will not be officially sworn in until the middle of October.

The Members-elect, by constituency, are as follows:


News June 27, 2011

(YELLOWKNIFE)  June 27, 2011 – Their Royal Highnesses The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, will observe and participate in a meeting of the 2011 Youth Parliament as part of the Northwest Territories portion of the 2011 Royal Tour.  They will also meet with Members of the Legislative Assembly and participants in the inaugural Elders Parliament hosted by the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly in May of 2010. 


News April 29, 2011

(YELLOWKNIFE, NT) April 29, 2011 – Nineteen high school students from across the North will take part in Youth Parliament 2011 beginning on Monday, May 2 at the Legislative Assembly building in Yellowknife. The students will participate in three days of meetings and briefings in preparation for the Youth Parliament Session during which they assume the roles of their respective Member of the Legislative Assembly. 


News Apr 7(b), 2011

(YELLOWKIFE) April 7, 2011 – The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, the Honourable Paul Delorey, has rescinded the recall order which was issued March 30, 2011 to reconvene the Sixth Session of the 16th Legislative Assembly, scheduled for Friday, April 8, 2011. 


News April 7(a), 2011

(YELLOWKIFE) April 7, 2011 – At a meeting of the Caucus held earlier today, Members of the 16th Legislative Assembly decided not to fill the vacancy left on Cabinet by the resignation of the Member for Range Lake, Sandy Lee. Accordingly, the Territorial Leadership Committee to be held this afternoon at 1:30 p.m. has been cancelled. 


News March 30, 2011

(YELLOWKNIFE) March 30, 2011 – The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, the Honourable Paul Delorey, has called a meeting of the Territorial Leadership Committee for Thursday, April 7, 2011 at 1:30 p.m. The Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories will then reconvene on Friday, April 8, 2011 at 10:00 a.m. 



Subscribe to Legislative Assembly of The Northwest Territories RSS