News October 23, 2007

(Yellowknife) October 23, 2007 – Members of the 16th Legislative Assembly began their new term in office by restructuring the Standing Committee configuration and immediately appointing the Committee Chairs-elect. A motion to adopt a new five-committee structure, a change from the previous four-committees, passed through the House on Friday, October 19, 2007. The motion is based upon a recommendation from the Regular Members of the 15th Legislative Assembly. 


News November 2, 2007

(Yellowknife) November 1, 2007 – The Board of Management of the Legislative Assembly yesterday considered a report of the Conflict of Interest Commissioner, Mr. Gerald Gerrand, Q.C., regarding a complaint filed against Bobby Villeneuve, the former Member for Tu Nedhe.


News November 8, 2007

(Yellowknife) November 8, 2007 – The Board of Management of the Legislative Assembly has directed that $76,874 in allowances and benefits paid to former Tu Nedhe MLA Bobby Villeneuve during the 15th Legislative Assembly be repaid.


News November 26, 2007

(Yellowknife) November 26, 2007 – Members of the Legislative Assembly are working towards establishing a strategic plan for the 16th Assembly. The 19-member Caucus dedicated four days to a priority-setting exercise that will result in a strategic plan to guide the Government of the Northwest Territories over the next four years. 


News November 29, 2007

YELLOWKNIFE (November 29, 2007) – In a letter to the Premier of the Northwest Territories, the Standing Committee on Economic Development and Infrastructure is demanding a response to its request for information pertaining to the Deh Cho Bridge concession agreement. 

Committee Chair Dave Ramsay says, “The information the Committee is seeking from the Premier falls into three categories: transparency, accountability, and fiscal responsibility.” 

The letter sent to Premier Roland seeks an immediate response to the committee’s request for the following information: 


News December 3, 2007

YELLOWKNIFE (December 3, 2007) – Members of the Legislative Assembly have recommended the appointments of Ms. Joan Mercredi, of Fort Smith, and Mr. Adrian Wright, of Yellowknife, to the NWT Human Rights Adjudication Panel. The four-year terms began on December 1, 2007. 


News December 6, 2007

YELLOWKNIFE (December 6, 2007) - The nineteen Members of the Legislative Assembly began their Caucus deliberations today by observing one minute of silence to acknowledge the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence against Women. In 1991, Parliament established December 6 as a national day of remembrance to memorialize the fourteen women, all engineering students attending L’Ecole Polytechnique in Montréal, who were killed in the Montreal Massacre. 


News December 7, 2007

YELLOWKNIFE (December 7, 2007) – The Caucus of the 16th Legislative Assembly concluded a significant phase of its strategic planning exercise today by reaching agreement on its vision, goals, and priorities for action under the theme ofNortherners Working Together. 



Subscribe to Legislative Assembly of The Northwest Territories RSS